KJEMI nr. 5 - 2022

Vestlia Resort, Geilo, Jan 30 - Feb 1, 2023 Background The 30-year-old tradition of Norwegian environmental chemistry conferences was revitalized by NECS 2020 held in Loen, with 60 participants. A follow-up symposium was scheduled to early February 2022. Unfortunately, the still on-going COVID pandemic forced this symposium to be postponed to 2023. Objectives NECS provides an interdisciplinary platform and meeting place for Norwegian and international specialists, students, academic and industrial researchers, as well as advisers and regulators in governmental and local administration bodies. The aim is to facilitate and encourage the exchange of experiences, ideas, and knowledge in this continuing growing scientific field. Topics • How Norway solved environmental problems hitherto since the 1960s. • Recent developments and state-of-the-art knowledge of environmental chemistry • Major environmental chemistry challenges today • Immediate challenges towards 2030 • What can we expect in the long run towards 2050? Selected subjects • Life cycle assessment • Trends in boreal and polar environment • Material flow analysis • Climate change and green energy • Environmental decision making • Human exposure and health • Biogeochemistry in the Anthropocene • Green and sustainable chemistry • Ambient and workplace air pollutant • Risk assessments Keynote speakers will catch the pulse of Environmental Chemistry 2023 Norwegian and international keynote speakers will contribute to a timely and exciting programme. Your contribution is important! Oral and poster contributions in environmental chemistry are most welcomed. The Abstract deadline is December 15, 2022. Combine leisure and science Vestlia Resort is situated next to Geilo’s largest downhill and cross-country slopes. As at former winter meetings there is allocated time for outdoor or other activities during extended lunch breaks. www.envirochem.no NECS Organizing Committee: Yngvar Thomassen, chairman (STAMI), Roland Kallenborn, vice chairman (NMBU), Rolf David Vogt (NIVA), Oddvar Røyset (Røyset AS), Elin Gjengedal (NMBU), Georg Becher (professor emeritus), Lindis Skipperud (NMBU).